MoonHouse Records banner image


Chris Gage header

   (Instrumental Sounds of the Season)
1. Joy To The World
2. Angels We Have Heard On High
3. O Holy Night (featuring Kym Warner)
4. The First Noel
5. In The Bleak Midwinter
6. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen (featuring Kenny Putnam)
7. O Tannenbaum (featuring David Carroll)
8. Good King Wenceslaus / I Saw Three Ships
9. Deck The Halls
10. Hark The Herald Angels Sing
11. What Child Is This?
12. Silent Night (featuring Christine Albert)


Produced by Chris Gage
Recorded and mixed by Chris Gage at MoonHouse Studio, Austin, TX
Mastered by Jerry Tubb at Terra Nova Digital Audio, Austin, TX
Ornament photos by Chris Gage
Photo of Chris Gage by Winker Withaneye
Artwork by Dick Reeves Design
All songs public domain.
Arranged by Chris Gage
MH2909 2013

I’ve always been a lover of Christmas music, and I’m happy to present my instrumental takes on some of my favorite carols. I hope these ornaments I’ve created will warm you like a crackling cookstove fire on a cold winter morning.

Christmas is a time for family…special thanks to mine…Christine, Sam, Casey, Ali, Brody, Charley and Troupe. Big love to Dad and Phyllis, mom-in-law Betty, my first wife Gwen and her mom Loretta. You’ve all made my Christmas memories so very special. Joyful thanks to my brothers Mike and Gary, my sister Patty, my extended step and in-law siblings, all their spouses and families and all the cousins, aunts and uncles around the globe.

In loving memory of Darleen Gage, John Albert and Alpha Braunesreither.

Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night. CG

The Academy of Texas Music's 2011 "Musician of the Year" Chris Gage steps into the spotlight with "Ornaments", an acoustic instrumental album of his favorite Christmas carols. Utilizing guitars, banjo, dobro, mandolin, accordions, dulcimer, percussion and piano he's created a warm, unique vibe that rings true to the spirit of Christmas.

 Special guest cameo appearances include Red Willow Band's Kenny Putnam on fiddle, The Greencards' Kym Warner on mandolin and bouzouki, David Carroll on upright bass and Christine Albert singing "Silent Night" in French.

Track Listing

 1. Joy to the World  (3:00)
A joyful unique approach to the classic with acoustic guitars and nylon string harmony guitar.

 2. Angels We Have Heard On High  (3:00)
These angel voices resonate from acoustic guitars with a banjo harmony.

 3. O Holy Night (featuring Kym Warner)  (3:43)
My friend Kym from The Greencards was kind enough to add his lead mandolin and the 8 string bouzouki part that you hear on the right. The rain was recorded outside the studio on the day I recorded my guitars.

 4. The First Noel  (3:16)
Fingerpick style acoustic guitar…I added a mandolin to support the melody and my little Elka accordion for color. I was always inspired by Jon Emery's version of this song.

 5. In the Bleak Midwinter  (3:53)
The beautiful Gustav Holst melody played on our 7 foot Baldwin piano, filled out with a dreamy pad, accordion solo and a little guitar.

 6. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen (featuring Kenny Putnam)  (2:58)
Kenny is actually the musician I've spent the most hours onstage with in my career. His fiddle is perfect here, and he recorded it in his home studio in Rapid City, SD.

 7. O Tannenbaum (featuring David Carroll)  (3:02)
I love David’s upright bass on this track. This is my nod to the Vince Guaraldi Christmas album we all know and love. I played the lead on a Godin nylon string guitar, added piano, bongos and snare drum.

 8. Good King Wenceslaus / I Saw Three Ships  (3:09)
I found a way to give this a bit of an Irish lilt which led me naturally into "I Saw Three Ships" and a medley was born. I added my Regal dobro to the mix and on the left you'll hear a dulcimer.

 9. Deck The Halls  (2:17)
I was bound and determined to have one song on solo guitar, and this is it. It's my tiny Collings single O guitar I bought from Jerry Jeff, tuned to a double-drop C.

10. Hark the Herald Angels Sing  (3:01)
I enjoyed the syncopation on the rhythm guitar, and then matched it on the lead. My Giulietti accordion ties it all together.

11. What Child Is This?  (3:32)
A slightly funky approach, augmented with baritone guitar and bongos.

12. Silent Night (featuring Christine Albert)  (2;56)
My wife Christine makes records in French and English called was a no brainer to have her close out my record with the only vocals. Thanks, honey, and Merry Christmas.


MoonHouse Records, P.O.Box 41021, Austin, TX  78704,